Voting in the 2009 NYRA annual election, where the membership votes for a new slate of board members, is underway! This year’s election is the most competitive yet, with 14 qualified candidates running for nine available seats on the board of directors. NYRA’s slate of candidates this year is impressive, with several active chapter leaders running, as well as several incumbents.

Also on the ballot are two amendments to NYRA’s bylaws changing how the board removes officers or directors, and an amendment to the education position paper opposing corporal punishment in schools.

All paid NYRA members are eligible to vote in the election. Voting can be done securely on the NYRA website, via email or postal mail, or in person at NYRA’s annual meeting in August. If you paid your dues before the beginning of the month, you’ve already received your ballot. If not, it’s not too late! Voting is open until August 1; pay your dues to become a full member of NYRA today! Just $10 earns you a paid NYRA membership and eligibility to vote in the election, and now, for a limited time, you can become a lifetime NYRA member for only $75.

This year’s slate of candidates for the board of directors is:

Jackie Ferro (president, NYRA-Nanuet)
Justin Graham (incumbent; editor, NYRA Freedom)
Max Harmony (board of directors, Americans for a Society Free from Age Restrictions)
Alex Koroknay-Palicz (incumbent; NYRA executive director)
Brian Lombrowski (president, Community Alliance for the Ethical Treatment of Youth)
Keith Mandell (incumbent)
Katrina Moncure (incumbent)
Stefan Muller (incumbent; NYRA vice president)
Stephanie Mungroo (member, NYRA-Nanuet)
Jeffrey Nadel (incumbent; president, NYRA of Southeast Florida)
Victoria Minerva Rodríguez Roldán (member)
Steve Ross (incumbent; former chairman, Zionsville Student Rights Union)
Chip Sinton (incumbent; NYRA president)
Pablo Vazquez (co-founder, NYRA-UTSA)

Voting in the election began July 1, and will conclude at NYRA’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C. on August 1. Read all about the candidates, and the proposed bylaw and position paper changes, here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *