Disclaimer:
This list is for informational purposes only and should not be considered legal advice.

FindLaw.com provides an overview of DUI laws and BAC levels in all 50 states.

Alabama

As of 6/21/2011

  • It shall be unlawful for a person less than 21 years of age to purchase, consume, possess, or to transport any alcohol, liquor or malt or brewed beverages within the State of Alabama. Alabama Code Section 28-1-5
  • Persons who are 19 years of age or older and working as a waiter, waitress, or server may serve alcoholic beverages during normal dining hours in a restaurant which holds an Alcoholic Beverage Control Board restaurant retail license. An employer who employs a person between the ages of 19 and 21 to serve alcoholic beverages as provided in the preceding sentence shall be a licensee of the board who has been annually certified as a responsible vendor under the Alabama Responsible Vendor Act as provided in Chapter 10 (commencing with Section 28-10-1) of this title.Alabama Code Section 28-1-5
  • A person shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle while there is 0.08 percent or more by weight of alcohol in his or her blood. Alabama Code Section 32-5A-191
  • A person who is under the age of 21 years shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle if there is .02 percentage or more by weight of alcohol in his or her blood.  Alabama Code Section 32-5A-191

Alaska

As of 6/21/2011

  • A person under the age of 21 years may not knowingly consume, possess, or control alcoholic beverages. Alaska Code Section 4-16-50
  • A person may not furnish or deliver an alcoholic beverage to a person under the age of 21 years. This section does not prohibit the furnishing or delivery of an alcoholic beverage by a parent to the parent’s child, by a guardian to the guardian’s ward, or by a person to the legal spouse of that person if the furnishing or delivery occurs off licensed premises; or by a licensed physician or nurse to a patient in the course of administering medical treatment. Alaska Code Section 4-16-51
  • A person under the age of 21 years may not knowingly enter or remain in premises licensed under this title unless accompanied by a parent, guardian, or spouse who has attained the age of 21 years; the person is at least 16 years of age, the premises are designated by the board as a restaurant for the purposes of this section, and the person enters and remains only for dining; or the person is under the age of 16 years, is accompanied by a person over the age of 21 years, the parent or guardian of the underaged person consents, the premises are designated by the board as a restaurant for the purposes of this section, and the person enters and remains only for dining. Alaska Code Section 4-16-49
  • A licensee or an agent or employee of the licensee may refuse entry to a person under the age of 21 years to that part of licensed premises in which alcoholic beverages are sold, served, or consumed, may refuse service to a person under the age of 21 years, or may require a person under the age of 21 years to leave the portion of the licensed premises in which alcoholic beverages are sold, served, or consumed. Alaska Code Section 4-16-49
  • A person 18, 19, or 20 years of age may be employed within the licensed premises of a hotel, restaurant, or eating place, may enter and remain within those premises for the purpose of employment, but may not, in the course of employment, sell, serve, deliver, or dispense alcoholic beverages. Alaska Code Section 4-16-49
  • A person 16 or 17 years of age may enter and remain within the licensed premises of a hotel, restaurant, or eating place in the course of employment if the employment does not involve the serving, mixing, delivering, or dispensing of alcoholic beverages; the person has the written consent of a parent or guardian; and (3) an exemption from the prohibition of AS 23.10.355 is granted by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. Alaska Code Section 4-16-49
  • A person who is at least 14 years of age but not yet 21 years of age commits the offense of minor operating a vehicle after consuming alcohol if the person operates or drives a motor vehicle or operates an aircraft or a watercraft after having consumed any quantity of alcohol. Alaska Code Section 28-35-280
  • A person commits the crime of driving while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage, inhalant, or controlled substance if the person operates or drives a motor vehicle or operates an aircraft or a watercraft while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage, intoxicating liquor, inhalant, or any controlled substance, singly or in combination; and if, as determined by a chemical test taken within four hours after the alleged operating or driving, there is 0.08 percent or more by weight of alcohol in the person’s blood or 80 milligrams or more of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood, or if there is 0.08 grams or more of alcohol per 210 liters of the person’s breath.Alaska Code Section 28-35-30

Arizona

As of 6/21/2011

  • “Legal drinking age” means twenty-one years of age or older. Arizona Code Section 4-101
  • A person who is under the legal drinking age and who misrepresents the person’s age to any person by means of a written instrument of identification with the intent to induce a person to sell, serve, give or furnish spirituous liquor contrary to law is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. Arizona Code Section 4-241
  • It is unlawful for a licensee or other person to sell, furnish, dispose of or give, or cause to be sold, furnished, disposed of or given, to a person under the legal drinking age or for a person under the legal drinking age to buy, receive, have in the person’s possession or consume spirituous liquor. This paragraph shall not prohibit the employment by an off-sale retailer of persons who are at least sixteen years of age to check out, if supervised by a person on the premises who is at least nineteen years of age, package or carry merchandise, including spirituous liquor, in unbroken packages, for the convenience of the customer of the employer, if the employer sells primarily merchandise other than spirituous liquor. Arizona Code Section 4-244
  • It is unlawful for a licensee to employ a person under nineteen years of age to manufacture, sell or dispose of spirituous liquors. This paragraph shall not prohibit the employment by an off-sale retailer of persons who are at least sixteen years of age to check out, if supervised by a person on the premises who is at least nineteen years of age, package or carry merchandise, including spirituous liquor, in unbroken packages, for the convenience of the customer of the employer, if the employer sells primarily merchandise other than spirituous liquor. Arizona Code Section 4-244
  • It is unlawful for an on-sale retailer to employ a person under nineteen years of age in any capacity connected with the handling of spirituous liquors. This paragraph does not prohibit the employment by an on-sale retailer of a person under nineteen years of age who cleans up the tables on the premises for reuse, removes dirty dishes, keeps a readysupply of needed items and helps clean up the premises.

    Arizona Code Section 4-244

  • The dispensing to or possession or consumption by a person under the legal drinking age of spirituous liquor in the performance of a religious service or ceremony is not prohibited by this title. Arizona Code Section 4-249
  • A person who operates a motor vehicle in this state gives consent, subject to section 4-244, paragraph 34 or section 28-1381, 28-1382 or 28-1383, to a test or tests of the person’s blood, breath, urine or other bodily substance for the purpose of determining alcohol concentration or drug content if the person is arrested for any offense arising out of acts alleged to have been committed in violation of this chapter or section 4-244, paragraph 34 while the person was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. The test or tests chosen by the law enforcement agency shall be administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer having reasonable grounds to believe that the person was driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in this state either while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs; or if the person is under twenty-one years of age, with spirituous liquor in the person’s body.Arizona Code Section 28-1321
  • After an arrest a violator shall be requested to submit to and successfully complete any test or tests prescribed by subsection A of this section, and if the violator refuses the violator shall be informed that the violator’s license or permit to drive will be suspended or denied for twelve months, or for two years for a second or subsequent refusal within a period of eighty-four months, unless the violator expressly agrees to submit to and successfully completes the test or tests. A failure to expressly agree to the test or successfully complete the test is deemed a refusal. The violator shall also be informed that if the test results show a blood or breath alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, or if the results show a blood or breath alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more and the violator was driving or in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle, the violator’s license or permit to drive will be suspended or denied for not less than ninety consecutive days.Arizona Code Section 28-1321

Arkansas

As of 6/21/2011

  • It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to give, procure, or otherwise furnish any alcoholic beverage to any person under twenty-one (21) years of age. However, this subsection shall not apply to the serving of an alcoholic beverage to the person’s family or to the use of wine or beer in any religious ceremony or rite in any established church or religion. Arkansas Code Section 3-3-202
  • Any person who shall unknowingly sell, give away, or otherwise dispose of intoxicating liquor to a minor shall be guilty of a violation and punished by a fine of not less than two hundred dollars ($200) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500) for the first offense. Arkansas Code Section 3-3-201
  • It shall be unlawful for any person under twenty-one (21) years of age to purchase or have in his or her possession any intoxicating liquor, wine, or beer. For the purposes of this section, intoxicating liquor, wine, or beer in the body of a minor shall not be deemed to be in his or her possession.Arkansas Code Section 3-3-203
  • It shall also be unlawful for an adult to purchase on behalf of a person under twenty-one (21) years of age any intoxicating liquor, wine, or beer. Arkansas Code Section 3-3-203
  • It shall be unlawful for any wholesaler, retailer, or transporter of alcoholic beverages to allow any employee or any other person under twenty-one (21) years of age to have anything to do with the selling, transporting, or handling of alcoholic beverages. With the written consent of a parent or guardian, persons eighteen (18) years of age and older may sell or otherwise handle beer and cooking wines at retail grocery establishments; or be employed by a licensed liquor wholesaler or licensed beer wholesaler or by a licensed native winery to handle alcoholic beverages at the place of business of the licensed wholesaler or winery. With the written consent of a parent or guardian, persons nineteen (19) years of age and older may sell and handle alcoholic beverages at an establishment that is licensed for on-premises consumption of alcoholic beverages under § 3-9-202(8) and (9) or § 3-9-301. Arkansas Code Section 3-3-204
  • At the time of arrest for operating or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while intoxicated or while there was an alcohol concentration of eight hundredths (0.08) or more in the person’s breath or blood, as provided in § 5-65-103, the arrested person shall immediately surrender his or her license, permit, or other evidence of driving privilege to the arresting law enforcement officer as provided in § 5-65-402. Arkansas Code Section 5-65-104
  • It is unlawful and punishable as provided in this subchapter for any underage person to operate or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or similar intoxicant. It is unlawful and punishable as provided in this subchapter for any underage person to operate or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle if at that time there was an alcohol concentration of two-hundredths (0.02) but less than eight-hundredths (0.08) in the underage person’s breath or blood as determined by a chemical test of the underage person’s blood or breath or other bodily substance.Arkansas Code Section 5-65-303

California

As of 6/21/2011

  • Every person who sells, furnishes, gives, or causes to be sold, furnished, or given away, any alcoholic beverage to any person under the age of 21 years is guilty of a misdemeanor. California Code Section 25658
  • Any person under the age of 21 years who purchases any alcoholic beverage, or any person under the age of 21 years who consumes any alcoholic beverage in any on-sale premises, is guilty of a misdemeanor.California Code Section 25658
  • It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 years who has 0.05 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle. California Code Section 23140
  • It is unlawful for any person who has 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle. California Code Section 23152
  • It is unlawful for any person who has 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210.California Code Section 23152

Colorado

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to consume or possess alcohol unless a parent or guardian gives permission for their child or ward to drink, but only on private property and under the supervision of the parent or guardian. Anyone under the age of 21 can’t drive any motor vehicle with a BAC of .02 but less than a BAC of .05. Anyone 21 years of age or older may not drive if they have a BAC of .10 or higher.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2

Connecticut

  • The only thing I found was that a minor (any one under the age of 21) can’t drink alcohol pretty much. I didn’t find the BAC limit for someone under 21 (if there is one), but I did find that the BAC (at least for someone 21 years old or older) is .10.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2

Delaware

As of 6/29/2011

  • No person shall drive a vehicle: When the person is under the influence of alcohol; When the person is under the influence of any drug; When the person is under the influence of a combination of alcohol and any drug; When the person’s alcohol concentration is .08 or more; or When the person’s alcohol concentration is, within 4 hours after the time of driving .08 or more. Delaware Code Section 4177
  • Whoever, being under the age of 21 years, drives, operates or has actual physical control of a vehicle, an off-highway vehicle or a moped while consuming or after having consumed alcoholic liquor shall have that person’s driver’s license and/or privileges revoked for a period of 2 months for the first offense and not less than 6 months nor more than 12 months for each subsequent offense. If the underage person does not have a driver’s license and/or privileges, the person shall be fined $200 for the first offense and not less than $400 nor more than $1,000 for each subsequent offense. Delaware Code Section 4177L
  • No person or licensee shall sell any alcoholic liquor to any Individual who has not reached the age of 21 years, except that in any prosecution for an offense under this paragraph it shall be an affirmative defense that the individual, who has not reached the age of 21 years, presented to the accused identification, with a photograph of such individual affixed thereon, which identification sets forth information which would lead a reasonable person to believe such individual was 21 years of age or older. Delaware Code Section 708
  • Whoever sells any alcoholic liquor to any person who has not reached the age of 21 years, or sells to any person of more than such age any alcoholic liquor knowing that such alcoholic liquor is bought for a person who is less than 21 years of age and is to be drunk by the latter, shall, in addition to the payment of costs, be fined not less than $250 nor more than $500 and, on failure to pay such fine and costs, shall be imprisoned for 30 days. Delaware Code Section 904
  • Any person under the age of 21 years who knowingly makes false statement to any person engaged in the sale of alcoholic liquor for the purpose of obtaining the same and to the effect that he is 21 years of age or older, shall, in addition to the payment of costs, be fined for the first offense, not less than $100 nor more than $500, and on failure to pay such fine and costs, shall be imprisoned for 30 days, and for each subsequent like offense, shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000, and on failure to pay such fine and costs shall be imprisoned for 60 days.Delaware Code Section 904
  • Whoever purchases, buys or gives alcoholic liquor for or to a person under the age of 21 years or knowingly allows a person under his or her supervision and under the age of 21 years to consume alcoholic liquor shall, in addition to the payment of costs, be fined for the first offense, not less than $100 nor more than $500, and may be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 40 hours in such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances and may be imprisoned for not more than 30 days; and for each subsequent like offense, shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 and may be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 80 hours in such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances and may be imprisoned for not more than 60 days. This subsection shall not apply to religious services or members of the same family within the private home of any of said members.Delaware Code Section 904
  • Except as provided in subsection (n) of this section, whoever, being the holder of a license to operate a tavern or taproom, admits or permits to remain in such tavern or taproom any individual under the age of 21 years, shall be fined not more than $100.Delaware Code Section 904
  • Except as provided in subsection (n) of this section, whoever, being under the age of 21 years, enters or remains in a tavern, taproom or package store, or while therein possesses at any time alcoholic liquors, shall be fined $50. Delaware Code Section 904
  • Whoever, being under the age of 21 years, has alcoholic liquor in his or her possession at any time, or consumes or is found to have consumed alcoholic liquor, shall have their Delaware driver’s license revoked for a period of 30 days for the 1st offense and not less than 90 days nor more than 180 days for each subsequent offense. If the underage person does not have a Delaware driver’s license, the person shall be fined $100 for the 1st offense and not less than $200 nor more than $500 for each subsequent offense. This section shall not apply to the possession or consumption of alcoholic liquor in connection with any religious service or by members of the same family within the private home of any of said members.Delaware Code Section 904
  • Nothing in this section shall prevent the employment of a person, 16 years of age or older, in clubs with authorized dining facilities, hotels, racetracks and restaurants licensed under this title where such employment has been authorized by permit issued by the Commission, provided that such a person shall not be involved in the sale or service of alcoholic liquor.Delaware Code Section 904
  • Nothing in this section shall prevent the employment of a person 19 years of age or older to serve alcoholic liquor to patrons of clubs with authorized dining facilities, hotels, racetracks and restaurants licensed under this title.Delaware Code Section 904
  • Nothing in this section shall prevent the employment of a person, 16 years of age or older, in a catering business serving liquors, provided that such person shall not be engaged in the sale or service of alcoholic liquor.Delaware Code Section 904
  • Nothing in this section shall prevent the employment of a person, 16 years of age or older, in a bowling alley licensed to serve alcoholic beverages, provided that such person shall not be engaged in the sale or service of alcoholic liquor.Delaware Code Section 904
  • Nothing in this section shall prevent a licensed importer from employing a person who is 18, 19 or 20 years of age to: Work in an office, warehouse or other facility used by the importer in the operation of its business; Make or assist in deliveries of alcoholic liquors to licensed establishments in this State; Transport or assist in the transporting of alcoholic liquors to or from the importer’s warehouse. Such person may enter any licensed establishment in this State for the purpose of making or assisting the delivery of alcoholic liquors thereto or for any purpose related to such delivery. No such person shall be employed by a licensed importer as a salesperson or sales representative.Delaware Code Section 904
  • Nothing in this section shall prevent the employment in a store by a retailer of anyone who has reached the age of 18 years, under such conditions as the Commission may by rule prescribe; provided, however, that no such minor shall sell or serve alcoholic liquors.Delaware Code Section 904
  • Nothing in this section shall prohibit or prevent persons under the age of 21 years from entering or remaining in a premises licensed as a tavern or taproom for the purpose of a social event, including, but not limited to, events exclusively for persons under the age of 21 years, provided that the premises licensed as a taproom or tavern is closed for business (including any Sunday); and provided further, that during any such social event, no alcoholic liquor shall be sold, furnished or given to any person at any time before, during or after the social event. All alcoholic liquor must be either removed from the licensed premises or placed under lock and key at all times during the social event and any time before or after the social event when persons under the age of 21 years are present on the licensed premises.Delaware Code Section 904

DC

As of 6/29/2011

  • If as a result of the operation or the physical control of a vehicle, a person is tried in any court of competent jurisdiction within the District of Columbia for operating or being in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor in violation of § 50-2201.05(b), negligent homicide in violation of § 50-2203.01, or manslaughter committed in the operation of a vehicle in violation of § 22-2105, and in the course of the trial there is received, based upon a chemical test, evidence of alcohol in the defendant’s blood, urine, or breath, such evidence: Shall, if at the time of testing, defendant’s alcohol concentration was less than 0.05 grams per 100 milliliters of blood or per 210 liters of breath or 0.06 grams or less per 100 milliliters of urine, establish a rebuttable presumption that the defendant was not, at the time, under the influence of intoxicating liquor. If at the time of testing, defendant’s alcohol concentration was 0. 05 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood or per 210 liters of breath or more than 0.06 grams per 100 milliliters of urine, but less than 0.08 grams per 100 milliliters of blood or per 210 liters of breath or less than 0.10 grams per 100 milliliters of urine, this evidence shall constitute prima facie proof that the defendant was, at the time, under the influence of intoxicating liquor. DC Code Division V, Title 50, Subtitle VII, Subchapter III (50-2205.02)
  • No person who is under 21 years of age shall purchase, attempt to purchase, possess, or drink an alcoholic beverage in the District, except as provided under subchapter IX of Chapter 7.DC Code Division V, Title 25, Chapter 10 (25-1002)
  • No person shall falsely represent his or her age, or possess or present as proof of age an identification document which is in any way fraudulent, for the purpose of purchasing, possessing, or drinking an alcoholic beverage in the District. DC Code Division V, Title 25, Chapter 10 (25-1002)
  • No person shall present a fraudulent identification document for the purpose of entering an establishment possessing an on-premises retailer’s license, an Arena C/X license, or a temporary license.DC Code Division V, Title 25, Chapter 10 (25-1002)
  • No person under the age of 21 shall be criminally charged with the offense of possession or drinking an alcoholic beverage under this section, but shall be subject to civil penalties under subsection (e) of this section. Upon the first violation, a fine of not more than $300 and the suspension of driving privileges in the District for 90 consecutive days; Upon the second violation, a fine of not more than $600 and the suspension of driving privileges in the District for 180 days; and Upon the third or subsequent violation, a fine of not more than $1,000 and the suspension of driving privileges in the District for one year. DC Code Division V, Title 25, Chapter 10 (25-1002)

Florida

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to consume or posses alcohol. But interestingly you can taste (can’t consume) an alcoholic beverage if it is required of a class in a postsecondary educational institution (college) but only if you’re at least 18 years of age. It’s illegal to drive a motor vehicle with a BAC of .02 or higher if under the age of 21. For anyone 21 years of age or older may not drive if they have a BAC of .08 or higher.
  • 2002->Ch0562->Section%20111″ target=”_blank”>Reference 2
  • Reference 4

Georgia

  • No one under 21 year of age is allowed to possess alcohol (therefore you can’t drink it either) unless at home when the parent or guardian gives it to his/her child or ward and the parent or guardian is present (supervising). It’s illegal to drive a motor vehicle with a BAC of .02 or higher if under the age of 21. For anyone 21 years of age or older may not drive if they have a BAC of .08 or higher.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2

Hawaii

Idaho

  • Its seems that no one under the age of 21 is allowed to consume, or possess alcohol. Someone under the age of 21 can not drive any motor vehicle with a BAC of .02 but less than a BAC of .08. The BAC for anyone over 21 years of age or older is a BAC of .04 but less than a BAC of .08.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2

Illinois

As of 6/30/2011

  • A person shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle within this State while: the alcohol concentration in the person’s blood or breath is 0.08 or more based on the definition of blood and breath units in Section 11‑501.2;under the influence of alcohol; under the influence of any intoxicating compound or combination of intoxicating compounds to a degree that renders the person incapable of driving safely. Illinois Code Chapter 625, Vehicle Code Chapter 11, Article V, Section 11-501
  • A person who is under the age of 21 at the time the person is requested to submit to a test as provided above shall, in addition to the warnings provided for in this Section, be further warned by the law enforcement officer requesting the test that if the person submits to the test or tests provided in paragraph (a) of this Section and the alcohol concentration in the person’s blood or breath is greater than 0.00 and less than 0.08, a suspension of the person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle, as provided under Sections 6‑208.2 and 11‑501.8 of this Code, will be imposed.Illinois Code Chapter 625, Vehicle Code Chapter 11, Article V
  • Any person at least 18 years of age who willfully supplies alcoholic liquor or illegal drugs to a person under 18 years of age and causes the impairment of such person shall be liable for death or injuries to persons or property caused by the impairment of such person.  Illinois Code Chapter 740, Drug or Alcohol Impaired Minor Responsibility Act, Section 5
  • Any person, under the age of 21 years who, for the purpose of buying, accepting or receiving alcoholic liquor from a licensee, represents that he is 21 years of age or over shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.Illinois Code Chapter 235, Liquor Control Act of 1934, Article X, Section 10-1
  • No license shall be issued to any person for the sale at retail of any alcoholic liquor at any store or other place of business where the majority of customers are minors of school age or where the principal business transacted consists of school books, school supplies, food, lunches or drinks for such minors.  Illinois Code Chapter 235, Liquor Control Act of 1934, Article VI, Section 6-12
  • Any person under the age of 21 years who has any alcoholic beverage in his or her possession on any street or highway or in any public place or in any place open to the public is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. This Section does not apply to possession by a person under the age of 21 years making a delivery of an alcoholic beverage in pursuance of the order of his or her parent or in pursuance of his or her employment.  Illinois Code Chapter 235, Liquor Control Act of 1934, Article VI, Section 6-16
  • No licensee nor any officer, associate, member, representative, agent, or employee of such licensee shall sell, give, or deliver alcoholic liquor to any person under the age of 21 years or to any intoxicated person, except as provided in Section 6‑16.1.  Illinois Code Chapter 235, Liquor Control Act of 1934, Article VI, Section 6-16
  • It is unlawful for any parent or guardian to knowingly permit his or her residence to be used by an invitee of the parent’s child or the guardian’s ward, if the invitee is under the age of 21, in a manner that constitutes a violation of this Section. A parent or guardian is deemed to have knowingly permitted his or her residence to be used in violation of this Section if he or she knowingly authorizes, enables, or permits consumption of alcoholic liquor by underage invitees. Any person who violates this subsection (a‑1) is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and the person’s sentence shall include, but shall not be limited to, a fine of not less than $500. Illinois Code Chapter 235, Liquor Control Act of 1934, Article VI, Section 6-16
  • Any person shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor where he or she knowingly permits a gathering at a residence which he or she occupies of two or more persons where any one or more of the persons is under 21 years of age and the following factors also apply:  the person occupying the residence knows that any such person under the age of 21 is in possession of or is consuming any alcoholic beverage; and the possession or consumption of the alcohol by the person under 21 is not otherwise permitted by this Act; and the person occupying the residence knows that the person under the age of 21 leaves the residence in an intoxicated condition.  Illinois Code Chapter 235, Liquor Control Act of 1934, Article VI, Section 6-16

Indiana

As of 6/21/2011

  • It is a Class C misdemeanor for a minor to knowingly possess an alcoholic beverage; consume it; or transport it on a public highway when not accompanied by at least one (1) of his parents or guardians. Indiana Code 7.1-5-7-7
  • It is a Class B misdemeanor for a person to recklessly, knowingly, or intentionally sell, barter, exchange, provide, or furnish an alcoholic beverage to a minor. Indiana Code 7.1-5-7-8
  • It is a Class C infraction for a parent, guardian, trustee, or other person having custody of a child under eighteen (18) years of age to take that child into a tavern, bar, or other public place where alcoholic beverages are sold, bartered, exchanged, given away, provided, or furnished.Indiana Code 7.1-5-7-9
  • It is a Class C misdemeanor for a minor to recklessly be in a tavern, bar, or other public place where alcoholic beverages are sold, bartered, exchanged, given away, provided, or furnished. Indiana Code 7.1-5-7-10
  • It is lawful for a minor to be on licensed premises in a room in which is located a bar over which alcoholic beverages are sold or dispensed by the drink if all the following conditions are met: The minor is eighteen (18) years of age or older. The minor is in the company of a parent, guardian, or family member who is twenty-one (21) years of age or older. The purpose for being on the licensed premises is the consumption of food and not the consumption of alcoholic beverages. Indiana Code 7.1-5-7-11
  • Section 12 of this chapter does not prohibit the employment of a person at least eighteen (18) years of age but less than twenty-one (21) years of age on or about licensed premises where alcoholic beverages are sold, furnished, or given away for consumption either on or off the licensed premises, for a purpose other than selling; furnishing, other than serving; consuming; or otherwise dealing in; alcoholic beverages. Indiana Code 7.1-5-7-13
  • Section 12 of this chapter does not prohibit a person at least nineteen (19) years of age but less than twenty-one (21) years of age from ringing up a sale of alcoholic beverages in the course of the person’s employment. Indiana Code 7.1-5-7-13
  • Section 12 of this chapter does not prohibit a person who is at least nineteen (19) years of age but less than twenty-one (21) years of age and who has successfully completed an alcohol server training program certified under IC 7.1-3-1.5 from serving alcoholic beverages in a dining area or family room of a restaurant or hotel in the course of a person’s employment as a waiter, waitress, or server; and under the supervision of a person who is at least twenty-one (21) years of age; is present at the restaurant or hotel; and has successfully completed an alcohol server training program certified under IC 7.1-3-1.5 by the commission. This subdivision does not allow a person at least nineteen (19) years of age but less than twenty-one (21) years of age to be a bartender. Indiana Code 7.1-5-7-13
  • A person who operates a vehicle with an alcohol concentration equivalent to at least eight-hundredths (0.08) gram of alcohol but less than fifteen-hundredths (0.15) gram of alcohol per one hundred (100) milliliters of the person’s blood; or two hundred ten (210) liters of the person’s breath; commits a Class C misdemeanor. A person who operates a vehicle with an alcohol concentration equivalent to at least fifteen-hundredths (0.15) gram of alcohol per one hundred (100) milliliters of the person’s blood; or two hundred ten (210) liters of the person’s breath; commits a Class A misdemeanor. Indiana Code 9-30-5-1
  • A person who is less than twenty-one (21) years of age; and operates a vehicle with an alcohol concentration equivalent to at least two-hundredths (0.02) gram but less than eight-hundredths (0.08) gram of alcohol per one hundred (100) milliliters of the person’s blood; or two hundred ten (210) liters of the person’s breath; commits a Class C infraction. Indiana Code 9-30-5-8.5

Iowa

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to consume or posses alcohol, unless at a private home when the parent or guardian gives it to his/her child or ward and the said parent or guardian is present (supervising). Also anyone under the age of 21 can not drive any motor vehicle with a BAC of .02 or higher. For anyone 21 years of age or older may not drive if they have a BAC of .10 or higher.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2
  • Reference 3

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to buy, consume, posses, or transport alcohol. But to transport alcohol for any lawful purpose (like giving it to someone 21 or older to use) with the consent of the parent or guardian is allowed.
  • Reference 1

Massachusetts

As of 6/29/2011

  • Whoever, upon any way or in any place to which the public has a right of access, or upon any way or in any place to which members of the public have access as invitees or licensees, operates a motor vehicle with a percentage, by weight, of alcohol in their blood of eight one-hundredths or greater, or while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, or of marijuana, narcotic drugs, depressants or stimulant substances, all as defined in section one of chapter ninety-four C, or the vapors of glue shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than five thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than two and one-half years, or both such fine and imprisonment. Massachusetts Code Title XIV, Chapter 90, Section 24
  • No person shall receive a license or permit under this chapter who is under 21 years of age. Massachusetts Code Title XX, Chapter 138, Section 34
  • Whoever makes a sale or delivery of any alcoholic beverage or alcohol to any person under 21 years of age, either for his own use or for the use of his parent or any other person, or whoever, being a patron of an establishment licensed under section 12 or 15, delivers or procures to be delivered in any public room or area of such establishment if licensed under section 12, 15, 19B, 19C or 19D or in any area of such establishment if licensed under said section 15, 19B, 19C or 19D any such beverages or alcohol to or for use by a person who he knows or has reason to believe is under 21 years of age or whoever procures any such beverage or alcohol for a person under 21 years of age in any establishment licensed under section 12 or procures any such beverage or alcohol for a person under 21 years of age who is not his child, ward or spouse in any establishment licensed under said section 15, 19B, 19C or 19D or whoever furnishes any such beverage or alcohol for a person under 21 years of age shall be punished by a fine of not more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not more than one year or both. For the purpose of this section the word “furnish” shall mean to knowingly or intentionally supply, give, or provide to or allow a person under 21 years of age except for the children and grandchildren of the person being charged to possess alcoholic beverages on premises or property owned or controlled by the person charged. Massachusetts Code Title XX, Chapter 138, Section 34
  • Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit any person licensed under this chapter from employing any person 18 years of age or older for the direct handling or selling of alcoholic beverages or alcohol. Notwithstanding the provisions of clause (14) of section 62 of chapter 149, a licensee under this chapter may employ a person under the age of 18 who does not directly handle, sell, mix or serve alcohol or alcoholic beverages.Massachusetts Code Title XX, Chapter 138, Section 34
  • Any person under twenty-one years of age who purchases or attempts to purchase alcoholic beverages or alcohol, or makes arrangements with any person to purchase or in any way procure such beverages, or who willfully misrepresents his age, or in any way alters, defaces or otherwise falsifies his identification offered as proof of age, with the intent of purchasing alcoholic beverages, either for his own use or for the use of any other person shall be punished by a fine of three hundred dollars and whoever knowingly makes a false statement as to the age of a person who is under twenty-one years of age in order to procure a sale or delivery of such beverages or alcohol to such person under twenty-one years of age, either for the use of the person under twenty-one years of age or for the use of some other person, and whoever induces a person under twenty-one years of age to make a false statement as to his age in order to procure a sale or delivery of such beverages or alcohol to such person under twenty-one years of age, shall be punished by a fine of three hundred dollars. Massachusetts Code Title XX, Chapter 138, Section 34A
  • Whoever, being under twenty-one years of age and not accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, knowingly possesses, transports or carries on his person, any alcohol or alcoholic beverages, shall be punished by a fine of not more than fifty dollars for the first offense and not more than one hundred and fifty dollars for a second or subsequent offense; provided, however, that this section shall not apply to a person between the ages of eighteen and twenty-one who knowingly possesses, transports or carries on his person, alcohol or alcoholic beverages in the course of his employment.Massachusetts Code Title XX, Chapter 138, Section 34C

Michigan

As of 6/29/2011

  • A person, whether licensed or not, shall not operate a vehicle upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of vehicles, within this state if the person is operating while intoxicated. As used in this section, “operating while intoxicated” means any of the following: The person has an alcohol content of 0.08 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, or, beginning October 1, 2013, the person has an alcohol content of 0.10 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine. Michigan Code Chapter 257, Act 300, Section 625
  • A person who is less than 21 years of age, whether licensed or not, shall not operate a vehicle upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of vehicles, within this state if the person has any bodily alcohol content. As used in this subsection, “any bodily alcohol content” means either of the following: An alcohol content of 0.02 grams or more but less than 0.08 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, or, beginning October 1, 2013, the person has an alcohol content of 0.02 grams or more but less than 0.10 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine. OR Any presence of alcohol within a person’s body resulting from the consumption of alcoholic liquor, other than consumption of alcoholic liquor as a part of a generally recognized religious service or ceremony.Michigan Code Chapter 257, Act 300, Section 625
  • A person shall not sell or give any alcoholic beverage to any person who has not reached the age of 21 years. A person who has not reached the age of 21 years shall not possess any alcoholic beverage for the purpose of personal consumption. An alcoholic beverage is any beverage containing one-half of one percent or more alcohol by volume.Michigan State Constitution Article IV Section 40

Minnesota

As of 6/29/2011

  • It is a crime for any person to drive, operate, or be in physical control of any motor vehicle, as defined in section 169A.03, subdivision 15, except for motorboats in operation and off-road recreational vehicles, within this state or on any boundary water of this state when the person is under the influence of alcohol; the person is under the influence of a controlled substance; the person is knowingly under the influence of a hazardous substance that affects the nervous system, brain, or muscles of the person so as to substantially impair the person’s ability to drive or operate the motor vehicle; the person is under the influence of a combination of any two or more of the elements named in clauses (1) to (3); the person’s alcohol concentration at the time, or as measured within two hours of the time, of driving, operating, or being in physical control of the motor vehicle is 0.08 or more Minnesota Code Section 169A.20
  • It is a crime for any person to drive, operate, or be in physical control of any motor vehicle, as defined in section 169A.03, subdivision 15, except for motorboats in operation and off-road recreational vehicles, within this state or on any boundary water of this state when the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle and the person’s alcohol concentration at the time, or as measured within two hours of the time, of driving, operating, or being in physical control of the commercial motor vehicle is 0.04 or more. Minnesota Code Section 169A.20
  • A person may not take wild animals with a firearm or by archery: when the person is under the influence of alcohol; when the person is under the influence of a controlled substance, as defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4; when the person is under the influence of a combination of any two or more of the elements in clauses (1) and (2); when the person’s alcohol concentration is 0.08 or more; when the person’s alcohol concentration as measured within two hours of the time of taking is 0.08 or more.Minnesota Code Section 97B.065
  • It is a crime for a person under the age of 21 years to drive, operate, or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while consuming alcoholic beverages, or after having consumed alcoholic beverages while there is physical evidence of the consumption present in the person’s body.Minnesota Code Section 169A.33
  • It is unlawful for any: retail intoxicating liquor or 3.2 percent malt liquor licensee, municipal liquor store, or bottle club permit holder under section 340A.414, to permit any person under the age of 21 years to drink alcoholic beverages on the licensed premises or within the municipal liquor store; or person under the age of 21 years to consume any alcoholic beverages. If proven by a preponderance of the evidence, it is an affirmative defense to a violation of this clause that the defendant consumed the alcoholic beverage in the household of the defendant’s parent or guardian and with the consent of the parent or guardian. Minnesota Code Section 340A.503
  • It is unlawful for any person to sell, barter, furnish, or give alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age; any person under the age of 21 years to purchase or attempt to purchase any alcoholic beverage unless under the supervision of a responsible person over the age of 21 for training, education, or research purposes. Prior notification of the licensing authority is required unless the supervised alcohol purchase attempt is for professional research conducted by postsecondary educational institutions or state, county, or local health departments; or to induce a person under the age of 21 years to purchase or procure any alcoholic beverage, or to lend or knowingly permit the use of the person’s driver’s license, permit, Minnesota identification card, or other form of identification by a person under the age of 21 years for the purpose of purchasing or attempting to purchase an alcoholic beverage.Minnesota Code Section 340A.503
  • It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 years to possess any alcoholic beverage with the intent to consume it at a place other than the household of the person’s parent or guardian. Possession at a place other than the household of the parent or guardian creates a rebuttable presumption of intent to consume it at a place other than the household of the parent or guardian. This presumption may be rebutted by a preponderance of the evidence. Minnesota Code Section 340A.503
  • It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 years to enter an establishment licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages or any municipal liquor store for the purpose of purchasing or having served or delivered any alcoholic beverage. Notwithstanding section 340A.509, no ordinance enacted by a statutory or home rule charter city may prohibit a person 18, 19, or 20 years old from entering an establishment licensed under this chapter to: perform work for the establishment, including the serving of alcoholic beverages, unless otherwise prohibited by section 340A.412, subdivision 10; consume meals; and attend social functions that are held in a portion of the establishment where liquor is not sold. Minnesota Code Section 340A.503

Mississippi

Missouri

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to purchase alcohol (so I’m assuming you’re not allowed to drink it either.) I couldn’t find anything on the legal BAC limits.
  • Reference 1

Montana

As of 6/30/2011

  • It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 who has an alcohol concentration of 0.02 or more to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle upon ways of this state open to the public.Montana Code Section 61-8-410
  • It is unlawful and punishable for a person who is under the influence of alcohol to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle upon the ways of this state open to the public. Montana Code Section 61-8-401
  • Upon the trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding arising out of acts alleged to have been committed by any person driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, the concentration of alcohol in the person at the time of a test, as shown by analysis of a sample of the person’s blood or breath drawn or taken within a reasonable time after the alleged act, gives rise to the following inferences: If there was at that time an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or less, it may be inferred that the person was not under the influence of alcohol. If there was at that time an alcohol concentration in excess of 0.04 but less than 0.08, that fact may not give rise to any inference that the person was or was not under the influence of alcohol, but the fact may be considered with other competent evidence in determining the guilt or innocence of the person. If there was at that time an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, it may be inferred that the person was under the influence of alcohol. The inference is rebuttable. Montana Code Section 61-8-401
  • It is unlawful for any licensee, a licensee’s employee, or any other person to sell, deliver, or give away or cause or permit to be sold, delivered, or given away any alcoholic beverage to any person under 21 years of ageMontana Code Section 16-3-301
  • Any person under 21 years of age or any other person who knowingly misrepresents the person’s qualifications for the purpose of obtaining an alcoholic beverage from the licensee is equally guilty with the licensee and, upon conviction, is subject to the penalty provided in 45-5-624. Montana Code Section 16-3-301
  • All licensees must display in a prominent place in their premises a placard, issued by the department, stating fully the consequences for violations of the provisions of this code by persons under 21 years of age.Montana Code Section 16-3-301
  • Except in the case of an alcoholic beverage provided in a non-intoxicating quantity to a person under 21 years of age by the person’s parent or guardian, physician or dentist for medicinal purposes, a licensed pharmacist upon the prescription of a physician, or an ordained minister or priest in connection with a religious observance, a person may not sell or otherwise provide an alcoholic beverage to a person under 21 years of age. Montana Code Section 16-6-305
  • A parent, guardian, or other person may not knowingly sell or otherwise provide an alcoholic beverage in an intoxicating quantity to a person under 21 years of age. For the purposes of this section, “intoxicating quantity” means a quantity of an alcoholic beverage that is sufficient to produce: a blood, breath, or urine alcohol concentration in excess of 0.05; or substantial or visible mental or physical impairment. Montana Code Section 16-6-305
  • A person is guilty of a misdemeanor who invites a person under the age of 21 years into a public place where an alcoholic beverage is sold and treats, gives, or purchases an alcoholic beverage for the person; permits the person in a public place where an alcoholic beverage is sold to treat, give, or purchase alcoholic beverages for the person; or holds out the person to be 21 years of age or older to the owner of the establishment or to the owner’s employee. Montana Code Section 16-6-305
  • It is unlawful for any person to fraudulently misrepresent the person’s age to any dispenser of alcoholic beverages or to falsely procure any identification card or to alter any of the statements contained in any identification card, including a tribal identification card. Montana Code Section 16-6-305

Nebraska

As of 6/30/2011

  • It shall be unlawful for any person to operate or be in the actual physical control of any motor vehicle While under the influence of alcoholic liquor or of any drug; When such person has a concentration of eight-hundredths of one gram or more by weight of alcohol per one hundred milliliters of his or her blood; or When such person has a concentration of eight-hundredths of one gram or more by weight of alcohol per two hundred ten liters of his or her breath.Nebraska Code Section 60-6,196
  • No person shall sell, give away, dispose of, exchange, or deliver, or permit the sale, gift, or procuring of any alcoholic liquors, to or for any minor or to any person who is mentally incompetent. Nebraska Code Section 53-180
  • No minor shall obtain, or attempt to obtain, alcoholic liquor by misrepresentation of age, or by any other method, in any tavern or other place where alcoholic liquor is sold.Nebraska Code Section 53-180.01
  • Except as provided in section 53-168.06, no minor may sell, dispense, consume, or have in his or her possession or physical control any alcoholic liquor in any tavern or in any other place, including public streets, alleys, roads, or highways, upon property owned by the State of Nebraska or any subdivision thereof, or inside any vehicle while in or on any other place, including, but not limited to, the public streets, alleys, roads, or highways, or upon property owned by the State of Nebraska or any subdivision thereof, except that a minor may consume, possess, or have physical control of alcoholic liquor as a part of a bona fide religious rite, ritual, or ceremony or in his or her permanent place of residence.

    Nebraska Code Section 53-180.02

  • The penalty for violation of section 53-180.02 by a person eighteen years of age or younger shall be as follows: If the person convicted or adjudicated of violating such section has one or more licenses or permits issued under the Motor Vehicle Operator’s License Act: For the first offense, such person is guilty of a Class III misdemeanor and the court may, as a part of the judgment of conviction or adjudication, impound any such licenses or permits for thirty days and require such person to attend an alcohol education class; For a second offense, such person is guilty of a Class III misdemeanor and the court, as a part of the judgment of conviction or adjudication, may impound any such licenses or permits for ninety days and require such person to complete no fewer than twenty and no more than forty hours of community service and to attend an alcohol education class; and For a third or subsequent offense, such person is guilty of a Class III misdemeanor and the court, as a part of the judgment of conviction or adjudication, may (i) impound any such licenses or permits for twelve months and (ii) require such person to complete no fewer than sixty hours of community service, to attend an alcohol education class, and to submit to an alcohol assessment by a licensed alcohol and drug counselor.Nebraska Code Section 53-181
  • The penalty for violation of section 53-180.02 by a person eighteen years of age or younger shall be as follows: If the person convicted or adjudicated of violating such section does not have a permit or license issued under the Motor Vehicle Operator’s License Act: For the first offense, such person is guilty of a Class III misdemeanor and the court, as part of the judgment of conviction or adjudication, may prohibit such person from obtaining any permit or any license pursuant to the act for which such person would otherwise be eligible until thirty days after the date of such order and require such person to attend an alcohol education class; For a second offense, such person is guilty of a Class III misdemeanor and the court, as part of the judgment of conviction or adjudication, may prohibit such person from obtaining any permit or any license pursuant to the act for which such person would otherwise be eligible until ninety days after the date of such order and require such person to complete no fewer than twenty hours and no more than forty hours of community service and to attend an alcohol education class; and For a third or subsequent offense, such person is guilty of a Class III misdemeanor and the court, as part of the judgment of conviction or adjudication, may prohibit such person from obtaining any permit or any license pursuant to the act for which such person would otherwise be eligible until twelve months after the date of such order and require such person to complete no fewer than sixty hours of community service, to attend an alcohol education class, and to submit to an alcohol assessment by a licensed alcohol and drug counselor.Nebraska Code Section 53-181
  • No parent or guardian shall knowingly suffer or permit any minor, of whom he or she may be a parent or guardian, to violate the provisions of section 53-180.01 or53-180.02.Nebraska Code Section 53-180.03
  • Any person who knowingly manufactures, creates, or alters any form of identification for the purpose of sale or delivery of such form of identification to a person under the age of twenty-one years shall be guilty of a Class I misdemeanor. For purposes of this subsection, form of identification means any card, paper, or legal document that may be used to establish the age of the person named thereon for the purpose of purchasing alcoholic liquor.Nebraska Code Section 53-180.05
  • Every licensee of a place where alcoholic liquor is sold at retail shall display at all times in a prominent place a printed card with a minimum height of twenty inches and a width of fourteen inches, with each letter to be a minimum of one-fourth inch in height, which shall read as follows: WARNING TO PERSONS UNDER 21 YOU ARE SUBJECT TO NOTIFICATION OF PARENTS OR GUARDIAN AND YOU ARE SUBJECT TO A PENALTY OF UP TO $500 FINE, 3 MONTHS IN JAIL OR BOTH IF YOU ARE UNDER 21 AND YOU CONSUME, PURCHASE, ATTEMPT TO PURCHASE, OR HAVE IN YOUR POSSESSION ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR IN THIS ESTABLISHMENT AND WARNING TO ADULTS YOU ARE SUBJECT TO A PENALTY OF UP TO $1000 FINE, 1 YEAR IN JAIL OR BOTH IF YOU ARE 21 OR OVER AND YOU PURCHASE ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR FOR A PERSON UNDER 21 AND WARNING TO PURCHASERS OF BEER KEGS PROPER IDENTIFICATION AND PURCHASER’S SIGNATURE ARE REQUIRED LAWS OF THE STATE OF NEBRASKA

    Nebraska Code Section 53-180.04

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to buy or posses alcohol. But you can drink alcohol if you are a student in a curriculum licensed or registered by the state education department and is required to taste or imbibe alcoholic beverages in courses which are part of the required curriculum. Also you can consume alcohol if it is give to you by your guardian or parent. I didn’t find the BAC limit for anyone under 21 (if there is one), but I did find that the BAC (at least for someone 21 years old or older) is .10 (Effective until November 1, 2003.) After November 1, 2003 the new law is .08.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2

North Carolina

North Dakota

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to manufacture, purchase, consume, or possess alcohol. Also it’s illegal to enter any licensed premises where alcohol is being sold or displayed, except a restaurant when accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. I couldn’t find the BAC limits for this state.
  • Reference 1

Ohio

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to possess or consume any alcohol in any public or private place, unless the underage person is accompanied by a parent, spouse who is not an underage person, or legal guardian. Also anyone under the age of 18 is not allowed to possess or consume any low-alcohol beverage in any public or private place, unless accompanied by a parent, spouse who is not an underage person, or legal guardian. The limit of intoxication to drive a vehicle for someone under 21 years of age is a concentration of at least two-hundredths of one gram but less than ten-hundredths of one gram by weight of alcohol per two hundred ten liters of the person’s breath. For everyone 21 years of age or more it’s concentration of ten-hundredths of one per cent or more but less than seventeen-hundredths of one per cent by weight of alcohol in the person’s blood.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2
    Reference 3
  • Reference 4

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to buy or posses alcohol. I didn’t find the BAC limit for anyone under 21 (if there is one), but I did find that the BAC (at least for anyone 21 years old or older) is more than a BAC of 0.08 but less than 0.10.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2
  • Reference 3

South Carolina

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to buy alcohol (so I’m assuming you’re not allowed to drink it either.) But a college student who is 18 years or old can taste, but not consume or imbibe the liquor required for curriculum and is used only for instructional purposes during classes. There are many different ways to be charged with drinking under the influence (DUI) so just click on the second link and go to SECTION 56-5-2950 to see what they are.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2

South Dakota

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to purchase, possess, or consume alcohol. But an 18 year old or older can drink alcohol if done in the immediate presence of a parent or guardian or spouse over twenty-one years of age. Also if under18 years old you can still drink alcohol as long it’s in the immediate presence of a parent or guardian or spouse, who is at least twenty-one years of age, while not on the premises of an establishment licensed for the retail sale of alcoholic beverages. Also anyone under the age of 21 can not drive any motor vehicle with a BAC of .02 or higher. For anyone 21 years of age or older may not drive if they have a BAC of .10 or higher.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2
  • Reference 3
  • Reference 4
  • Reference 5

Tennessee

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to purchase, transport, or possess alcohol. Anyone under the age of 21 can not drive any motor vehicle with a BAC of .02 or higher. For anyone 21 years of age or older can not drive if they have a BAC of .08 but less than a BAC of .10.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2
  • Reference 3

Texas

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to purchase, posses, or consume alcohol. Possession and consumption of alcohol is legal for minors if under the supervision of a parent, guardian or spouse. Anyone under the age of 21 can not drive a motor vehicle with any traceable amounts of alcohol in the blood stream. I couldn’t find the legal BAC limit for 21 year olds and older.
  • Reference 1
  • Utah

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to purchase, possess, or consume alcohol. I didn’t find the BAC limit for anyone under 21 (if there is one), but I did find that the BAC (at least for anyone 21 years old or older) is a BAC of 0.08 or higher.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2
  • Reference 3

Vermont

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to purchase or consume alcohol. Anyone under the age of 21 can not drive any motor vehicle with a BAC of .02 or higher. For anyone 21 years of age or older can not drive if they have a BAC of .08 or higher.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2
  • Reference 3

Virginia

As of 7/1/2012

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to purchase or possess alcohol. A driver older than 21 is considered drunk with a BAC of 0.08 or more. for a driver younger than 21, the BAC cutoff is only .02.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2
  • Reference 3
  • Reference 4

Washington

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to purchase alcohol (so I’m assuming you’re not allowed to drink it either.) Anyone under the age of 21 can not drive any motor vehicle with a BAC of .02 or higher. For people 21 years of age or older, they can not drive if they have a BAC of .08 or higher.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2
  • Reference 3

West Virginia

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to purchase or consume alcohol. I couldn’t find the legal BAC limits.
  • Reference 1

Wisconsin

Wyoming

  • No one under the age of 21 is allowed to purchase, possess, or consume alcohol. There are many different ways to be charged with drinking under the influence (DUI) so just click on the second link and go to Section 31-5-233 to see what they are.
  • Reference 1
  • Reference 2